Prepare to Laugh

Parker has been working super hard and just feels so good. He got some hind shoes on which should really give him some more support behind. Yesterday, he went to Mogie’s for a jumping lesson. I told her that I had started jumping him at home and he just is fussy and the canter needs work. Of course jumping is all about your canter so if you are having trouble balancing the canter the jumps are not going to be easy. Parker can seriously jump when the balance is good so I know where the work needs to be done.

We started working in the canter and I explained that my issue was he felt on the forehand and he wanted to run and then pull when asked to balance up via the half halt. I find it hard to sit on him because he just lacks the balance and he chucks his head all around. Mogie watched and suggested we try a hackamore so we did. Parker did not care for the hackamore ๐Ÿ™‚ He makes his objection clearly known so we moved on. We then used a waterford full cheek for the rest of the lesson so he couldn’t grab on (I had been riding him in the HS duo d-ring).

We really worked on keeping the balance all the way to the jumps and having the right canter in the corner. You will see that there is so funny stuff where he leaves from a spot that I didn’t intend to leave from and when he doesn’t even see the jump because he is so worried about fighting me ๐Ÿ™‚ The good thing is that he is super honest and he tries really hard. He is a fantastic jumper and when the canter gets good we are going to be a force to reckon with.

Mogie really likes him and said he can seriously jump so just keep doing my homework. It was so hot and poor Parker was pooped out at the endย but it is nice to see him really trying hard. I was told that I need to keep the contact at the canter but achieve for 3lbs of pressure in the reins instead of 5lbs (5bls is when he is leaning on me). Don’t abandon him but think about my half halt as a lifting motion bumping him up with my calves as I lift the reins and then leg on.

4 responses to “Prepare to Laugh

  1. Hey Jess…Parker looks great! kudos to you!!

  2. jealous of all the lessons htat you are getting with Mogie!!

    • jessicamorthole

      Broke but happy ๐Ÿ™‚ I normally ride 2 horses but this heat has just been draining all the energy so it was just one this weekend.

Leave a Reply

