Productive weekend

I think most normal people use the weekends for relaxing but those of us who have farms/horses know the weekend is for working. Kurt spent Saturday putting boards up all around our manure pit. Yep, 3 yrs later and we now have sides on the manure pit. It just wasn’t an essential project but something that will make our life easier.

I spent most of Saturday painting jumps which is tedious but the end results are pretty cool. I taught a really fun lesson to my boarder who has come so far in her riding. I also rode several horses but the CANTER horses were getting the day off.

I got up nice and early on Sunday morning to beat out the rain. The farrier had come so all the horses had shoes back on and I was super excited to get back on Shine my Shoes.

It’s hard to tell in these pictures but he has dapples on him and he just looks so good. Nice weight, healthyย coat and muscled in all the right places.

He was happy to have something to do and was a bit bouncy starting off but I let him know we were just going to walk around and see the sights and he took a deep breathe and settled into work. He was doing pretty good until the big flock of blackbirds came in and settled in the field right next to the ring and in the trees. Think 1000 birds flying all around and making noise. He wasn’t keen about it but he also was pretty darn good. I didn’t force him to go on that long side of the ring but I did keep him working and he stayed focused which showed a lot of progress for him because I think a few months ago he would have went OMG birds totally can’t work ๐Ÿ™‚

This sure isn’t the greatest video in the world as he was a bit tense after the attack of the birds and then it started to pour down rain so it got cut short. Just an idea of what he looks like right now.

4 responses to “Productive weekend

  1. Is it considered a correct lead change if there’s a crowhop involved, but he changes back to front? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    He’s looking good and really figuring it out! I love that canter photo posted above where he’s round and reaching under himself so nicely – shows the potential he has as he’s getting used to carrying himself as something other than a racehorse.

  2. If I had the time and the money for a second horse, I’d want to come and see Shoes! He looks wonderful and fun and reminds me of a younger version of my current horse!

  3. Love the blog, I have to tell you about Dan’s antics he was lovely in SC trail rides everyday and tonight it is 40+ degrees and he is so froggy it is not even funny. Could only trot 20 meter circles both directions to keep the lid on ๐Ÿ™‚ survived ๐Ÿ™‚ Clinic this weekend is going to be entertaining for sure

  4. Omg, Shoes is looking so handsome! And he’s really getting the whole “contact” thing now. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

