Making a difference

Those who know me would probably say that I’m not an overly emotional person. I tend to take life too seriously and I often think that I relate to animals much better than people ūüôā

I just wanted to say thank you to those who have been donating to CANTER and have mentioned your appreciation of the blog or donated in name of a horse that you have bought from our program. I appreciate everybody who donates but it’s really special when I get an email from Allie that lets me know somebody made a donation and mentioned me in their donation. I feel like I have made a difference and that is an awesome feeling!

The holiday season always makes me reflect on just how we all can make a difference. I was reading some stories last night about the Kmart Layaway¬†Angels and talk about¬†getting emotional….geez no crying in front of your own computer. ¬†What a great concept. I’m also a huge fan of the series that NBC has been running called Making a Difference. If you want to make yourself cry go friend them on facebook at http://www.facebook.com/nbcmakingadifference¬†or http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/10397946/ns/nightly_news-making_a_difference/¬†Sometimes it’s just the little things that make such a huge difference in the lives of others. It really makes me so happy to see the great things that people can do. Sure beats watching all the depressing news stories.

There is an excellent story here- http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/3032619/vp/36880378#36880378 about First Lady Jane Beshear of Kentucky bringing a mobile breast cancer unit to the backstretch workers in Kentucky. You can see all the videos here- http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/3032619/vp/36880378#36880378 

I feel so blessed to have the opportunity to be involved with a program that I am so passionate about. I use my blog as a way to illustrate just what CANTER is doing to make a difference in the lives of so many thoroughbreds. Those who are donating can see where their money is going and put a horses face on their donation. I love that social media can bring so many people together. It doesn’t feel like work when I get to meet to many people who are passionate about our mission.

This year we listed 108 horses on the trainer listings at Delaware Park. Delaware Park has a fairly short meet from May-October so I find those numbers to be very impressive. Hats off to the amazing volunteers who bust their butts every weekend to ensure we help out the trainers finding homes for their horses. We also took in 16 horses from Delaware Park on donation. Those are just Delaware Park numbers (I head up that track so I keep spreadsheets to stay organized) but I imagine the numbers are sky-high across all of the tracks that CANTER Mid Atlantic is involved in. It is very rewarding to know that we are making such a huge difference in the lives of so many thoroughbreds.

I wanted to give a big thank you to Horse Force One for donating 150 bales of hay to CANTER Mid Atlantic. The hay went to our Centreville, Md farm where we currently have nine of our CANTER horses.

All of your donations and your support of CANTER go a long way in helping us to make a difference in both our track listing programs and our CANTER owned horses. Thank you all for making a difference!

3 responses to “Making a difference

  1. And thank you for all of your hard work! Since purchasing Canes Palace, I read your blog all the time and am always ranting and raving about the work you do. Thank you for helping produce such quality animals. Everyone loves the mare I bought and I always let them know she is a CANTER Ottb, there is now a friend of mine that is looking at a few ottb’s as her next project. She never would have considered it if it hadnt been for seeing what a nice horse Cadence is. Hopefully, one day soon I can become more involved in the Illinois CANTER program.

    Thanks again and keep up the good work, you are ver inspiring.

  2. Splishsplashriding

    Thank you, Jessica, for all you do for the program!

  3. I too will say ‘Thank You Jessica!’ for all the work that YOU do to help these horses, and to make CANTER a success! Happy New Year!!

Leave a Reply

