The difference a horse can make in a rider

Last night I was showing a horse that is owned by a client to some prospective buyers. The buyer came with her friend Michelle who had bought Rustyshouldrun from me earlier this summer. When Michelle had come to see Rusty she had been horse shopping for several months with lots of disappointing stories. She was having some confidence issues and although she loved thoroughbreds she knew it would take the right horse to make her feel comfortable enough that she could work towards regaining her confidence.

When she rode Rusty she said that he was the first horse that she felt comfortable on but she still had to be pushed by her trainer to canter him on that first ride and really had to be convinced to just trot him over some poles. I would have to look back to see when she bought Rusty but it was in the early fall and since then she has been riding him both on her own and in lessons. She proudly told me that she cantered her first vertical on him and how great it felt.

Last night, I rode the horse that I was showing first and then the prospective buyer asked Michelle to get on first. I was shocked that within several minutes of her getting on him she was cantering him all around and even jumping him over some x-rails. She had a huge smile on her face and the confidence just rolled off of her. It was like watching a completely different rider. I couldn’t help but to think that this is the difference that the right horse can make for a rider.

I also taught a lesson this weekend to Bill who bought Pegasus Fever from CANTER. I regret not getting a bit of video just to show that here is this huge 16.3 h 5yr TB gelding who only had race training but is packing a beginner rider around like he was born for the job. Bill is learning to post and steer but Pegasus just plods around patiently tolerating any and all mistakes that are made. I smiled for days after teaching that lesson. It has been fun watching Bill gain confidence in his riding skills. I will be really impressed if he can get that big old horse to canter. He tells me that Pegasus can get back to that gate awful quick when he wants to but I will believe it when I see it 🙂

4 responses to “The difference a horse can make in a rider

  1. I think that TBs offer an emotional connection to their rider. It has to be the right connection to work, but when it does it is magic. It’s why I am still riding TBs in my 60s, even though common sense might say to go to something quieter. 🙂

  2. Your post just made my day. What wonderful stories!

  3. Michelle,
    I’m so proud of you and Rusty and how far you two have come in such a short period of time. Keep up the good work.
    Jess,
    You are amazing in all respects for finding great partners, horse and rider and being able to see them progress. Keep up the good works for Canter!

Leave a Reply

