It has only been 2wks!

I took Katzimo along with Letterman for a dressage lesson with Kelly Mcginn. He stood on the trailer quietly by himself. Walked off and looked around like it was all just another day in the life of Katzimo. I walked him a lap around the indoor expecting him to perhaps be slightly looky especially since the door at the end was open but nope he found it all to be interesting but no big deal.

I believe that I told Kelly he had been in work for 3 wks but I looked and it has only been two weeks. Wow, hard to believe. He is just one classy smart horse. We was stellar during the lesson and she thought he was gorgeous. Head over to http://www.retiredracehorsetraining.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=category&id=97:jessica-morthole&layout=blog&Itemid=396&layout=default to see some  video and get more details on the lesson.

I was just so impressed that this horse has already been on two off the farm trail rides and now a trip to the indoor in less than 2 wks of work. He is so easy and the type that anybody can ride. I expect he will get snatched right up once he is up for sale at the conclusion of the Makeover Challenge.

Crazy as can be is also coming along nicely. Sunday tends to be a great day for everybody to come out and ride together. My friend Jess had wanted to give him a try and I took some pictures. Jess is a good rider but does tend to get nervous on the first ride. I know that she trust my assessment of horses but first rides on new horses are always tough. I think it is good that our horses get a variety of different riders. It teaches them to handle different styles and I also get to see if they changes with the different styles. Crazy can be a bit fussy on the ground but again he hasn’t  been here very long. I think less than 2 wks for him. He tends to look at things which make you think he could be silly  but I think it is just his personality. When you are on him he is about as relaxed and easy as they come. Jess took her time getting to know him and I joked with her that I would be impressed if she could get him to canter. Nope, he still doesn’t canter 🙂 How did they even get him to go at the track!! He is so slow. We think he could be a closet quarter horse. Stick a western saddle on him and go. He has such a good attitude and he didn’t mind the other horses going all around him.

This picture cracks me up because it was when she was working really hard to try to get him to canter. I was dying with laughter.

You know you want him!! How can you not want to see this face looking at you every day?

I got to take some pictures of Elusive Sky. He was one of my resale projects that sold to Amanda. He is being boarded at my barn and it has been great to watch them. Not only is he fancy on the flat but he can jump! He was a horse that crashed very badly upon arrival from the track. We joked that we needed to hide him behind the barn. He was so body sore all over and just funky. He was very angry and really didn’t care for people that much. I was confident he would come out of it. He is by the same sire as Katzimo and we think they look quite a bit alike. He now is quite sweet and able to enjoy riding because his body feels better.

We also tested out my two new resale projects. It is so fun when new horses come in and I am always just eager to see what I have got.

When this guy stepped off the trailer I just couldn’t believe it. I knew he was going to be nice but I wasn’t prepared for just how nice. Misty Galaxy is a 16.3 h 3 yr who only ran 3x. He looks like a big warmblood with big feet and huge bone. He is so sweet and just everything that you could hope for in a nice prospect.

They had arrived late Wednesday and they got a few days to settle in. We rode Galaxy on Saturday and he was amazing.

Tin Star is a 4yr 16h and for whatever reason I keep calling him the Tin Man 🙂 He has such a beautiful head and he is nicely uphill. He really soft and balanced under saddle with a great canter. I see eventer all over him!

It just seems like every horse in the barn is so darn nice to ride. Letterman was awesome at my lesson and I have been getting the best rides from him lately. Love my CANTER horses and these two resale horses are lovely. Fun stuff!

4 responses to “It has only been 2wks!

  1. WOW!! Misty Galaxy is absolutely stunning! :-O If I could afford it, I would ask you to throw him back on the trailer and send him to me!

  2. Dang, Galaxy is super sexy! I can’t help but be partial to Katzimo, too, since he is an AP Indy/Mr. P horse too. Sounds like everyone is going along so well. I want to live at your farm, LOL, fun all the time!

  3. Misty Galaxy is amazing looking!! Jess, you really know how to pick them!
    -Shannon

  4. Hi, I get mixed suggestions when I ask what is the best type trlr for my 16.3 had OTTB. Some say slant load, some say no slant load isnt’ big enough.
    I remember you talked about a new trlr you got. What are your thoughts.
    He is a large boned 16.3. appreciate any comments

Leave a Reply

